Nominations open for New Zealander of the Year Award

Outstanding service, achievement and contribution to New Zealand will soon be recognized as nominations open for the Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year Awards 2012.

The awards honour honour exceptional individuals, organisations and community groups who inspire through their hard work and achievement.

All New Zealanders are encouraged to nominate a fellow Kiwi whose contribution to society makes them feel proud and deserving of recognition. Nominations are open from Thursday 28 July until Friday 14 October 2011 and judging will take place in December. The winners and runners up in each category will be honoured at a gala Awards dinner in February next year.

“It is so easy to concentrate on negative headlines yet I am constantly amazed by the contribution made by so many New Zealanders of all ages and backgrounds,” says Awards patron and former prime minister, Jim Bolger.

“This year we are again looking for individuals and groups whose deeds and efforts will inspire and encourage others who seek to do good in society. The New Zealander of the Year Awards are designed to recognise special groups and individuals who in their own unique way have made a difference,” saysMr Bolger.

Any citizen over the age of 15 can be nominated in one or more of the five award categories:

Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year

Honouring the inspirational achievements of a remarkable person

Countdown Senior New Zealander of the Year

Recognising over 60s making a positive contribution to the nation

Coca-Cola Amatil Young New Zealander of the Year

Role models aged between 15 and 30 who are inspiring young New Zealanders

Mitre 10 Community of the Year

Acknowledging groups and organisations working together to build better communities

Kiwibank Local Heroes

Rewarding everyday people doing extraordinary things in their communities. Up to 250 Kiwibank local Hero medals will be awarded in up to 15 regions across the country. One national winner will be celebrated at the gala Awards dinner.

Billy Graham accepts the Kiwi Bank Local Heroes Award 2011 from Paul Brock.

Principal sponsor Kiwibank is pleased to provide each category winner with $5,000 towards their work and a custom made trophy. All nominees will receive a certificate of achievement or encouragement in recognition of their contribution.

Last year, more than 500 nominations were received under five categories, and the winners were:

Kiwibank New Zealander of the Year 2011: Sir Paul Callaghan

Countdown Senior New Zealander of the Year 2011: Alison Neill

Coca-Cola Amatil Young New Zealand of the Year 2011: Jamie Fenton

Mitre 10 Community of the Year 2011: The Gibbston Community Association

Kiwibank Local Heroes 2011: Billy Graham

Nomination forms are available online at the Awards website or at Kiwibank, Countdown and Mitre 10 stores.


One response to “Nominations open for New Zealander of the Year Award”

  1. Nominations for New Zealander of the Year Awards | Human Rights Commission Newsletters

    […] For more information, please visit the Global Indian Magazine website. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *