Sachin takes India to World Cup final

India has entered the final of the ICC World Cup, thanks to a heroic knock by master blaster Sachin Tendulkar. Sachin was awarded the man of the match award.

Batting first, India put a modest target of 260 for Pakistan to chase, but Pakistan struggled to chase the total.

Pakistan had a good start but lost their opening pair, Kamran Akmal and Mohammad Hafeez, before reaching 100 runs.

Indian bowling attack restricted any recovery by Pakistan batsmen, and were 2 wickets down for 103.

Sachin Tendulkar’s 85-run stint wasn’t without lifelines. The batting maestro was survived four dropped catches and two referrals.

India will play Sri Lanka in the final of the ICC World Cup in Mumbai.


India: V. Sehwag lbw b Riaz 38 (25b, 9×4), S. Tendulkar c Afridi b Ajmal 85 (115b, 11×4), G. Gambhir st. K. Akmal b Hafeez 27 (32b, 2×4), V. Kohli c U Akmal b Riaz 9 (21b), Yuvraj b Riaz 0 (1b), M.S. Dhoni lbw b Riaz 25 (42b, 2×4), Suresh Raina (not out) 36 (39b, 3×4), Harbhajan st. K. Akmal b Ajmal 12 (15b, 2×4), Zaheer c K. Akmal b Riaz 9 (10b, 1×4), A. Nehra (run out) 1 (2b), Munaf (not out) 0; Extras (lb-8, w-8, nb-2): 18; Total (for nine wkts. in 50 overs): 260.


Fall of wickets: 1-48 (Sehwag), 2-116 (Gambhir), 3-141 (Kohli), 4-141 (Yuvraj), 5-187 (Tendulkar), 6-205 (Dhoni), 7-236 (Harbhajan), 8-256 (Zaheer), 9-258 (Nehra).


Pakistan bowling: Gul 8-0-69-0, Razzaq 2-0-14-0, Riaz 10-0-46-5, Ajmal 10-0-44-2, Afridi 10-0-45-0, Hafeez 10-0-34-1.


Pakistan: K. Akmal c Yuvraj b Zaheer 19 (21b, 3×4), M. Hafeez c Dhoni b Munaf 43 (59b, 7×4), A. Shafiq b Yuvraj 30 (39b, 2×4), Younis c Raina b Yuvraj 13 (32b), Misbah c Kohli b Zaheer 56 (76b, 5×4 1×6), U. Akmal b Harbhajan 29 (24b, 1×4, 2×6), A. Razzaq b Munaf 3 (9b), S. Afridi c Sehwag b Harbhajan 19 (17b, 1×4), W. Riaz c Tendulkar b Nehra 8 (14b, 1×4), U. Gul lbw b Nehra 2 (3b). S. Ajmal (not out) 1 (5b); Extras (w-8): 8; Total (in 49.5 overs): 231.


Fall of wickets: 1-44 (K. Akmal), 2-70 (Hafeez), 3-103 (Shafiq), 4-106 (Younis), 5-142 (U. Akmal), 6-150 (Razzaq), 7-184 (Afridi), 8-199 (Riaz), 9-208 (Gul).


India bowling: Zaheer 9.5-0-58-2, Nehra 10-0-33-2, Munaf 10-1-40-2, Harbhajan 10-0-43-2, Yuvraj 10-1-57-2.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *