UK, NZ, OZ to share visa office in Singapore

Australian and New Zealand clients in Singapore will receive better access to immigration services through a new, first-of-a-kind visa centre from 25 March.

Both countries’ immigration departments today announced details of the first Five Country Conference (FCC) shared visa application centre (VAC) there.

Australia and New Zealand will share the facility with the United Kingdom.

The FCC nations of Australia, New Zealand, the UK, Canada and the United States work together to enhance security and efficiency of their immigration services.


A spokesman for Australia’s Department of Immigration and Citizenship said the VAC would provide more convenient access to immigration and citizenship services for clients in this region.

“These services will include extended operating hours with phones open until 5pm weekdays, and internet kiosks with an online application tracking facility so clients can view the status of their applications,” the spokesman said.

“All applications will continue to be assessed and decided by immigration staff at both the Australian and New Zealand high commissions. VAC staff will not be involved in decisions or have any knowledge of application outcomes.”

The spokesman says the use of shared visa application facilities would lead to improved services for clients of each country and would also achieve greater efficiencies through shared infrastructure and staffing.

“Savings achieved this way are ultimately able to be passed on to our clients,” the spokesman says.

Each country has agreed to share a global network of visa application centres.

From 25 March, the visa application centre in Singapore will be located at 20 Cecil Street, #11-02 to 05 Equity Plaza, Singapore 049705.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *